Unison Festival 2018

May 18 to 21, 2018 • Calgary

Calgary is pleased and honoured to host the 2018 Unison festival. This festival marks 20 years since Edmonton hosted the very first Canadian LGBTQ2 choir festival in 1998. Welcome back to Alberta for this exciting anniversary edition of Unison Festival Unisson!

 

Bella Concert Hall

First-Class Concert Hall

We have chosen Mount Royal University as the venue for the 2018 festival. The festival concerts will be held in the University’s flagship theatre, the Bella Concert Hall, at the heart of the Taylor Centre for the Performing Arts. Designed for choral and orchestral performances, the Bella is stunning, intimate, and acoustically superb.

 

 

 

West Residence

A Gay Village on Campus

When you arrive for the festival, you will be stepping into a pop-up gay village created just for you. Sing, sleep, eat and play, all right on campus!

Accommodations will be in the University’s student residences, so you will never be far from the action. Festival concerts, dining, and after-hours events will all be within easy walking distance.

 

 

Be Creative!

The theme for the 2018 Unison festival is “Be Creative!” Our artistic directors, Jean-Louis Bleau and Jane Perry, are crafting a weekend of creative collaboration for your enjoyment. We are throwing the doors wide open to new creations, as we seek to build community within Calgary and across the country through collaboration.

The festival kicks off with an opening ceremony and concert on Friday night in the Bella Concert Hall. Host choirs Calgary Men’s Chorus, One Voice Chorus, and the BarberEllas will take the stage to welcome everyone to Calgary. To close the concert, they will be joined by singers from local youth choirs. This massed choir, some 150 voices strong, may just raise the roof!

On Saturday and Sunday, the festival swings into its customary rhythm. Each participating choir or ensemble will perform in one of the concert blocks in the Bella Concert Hall. As always, these concert blocks are the heart of the Unison festival.

Saturday evening, Calgary introduces the Musi-Circus: an indoor street festival of music and arts in three campus theatres. Stay tuned for more news about this thrilling new feature event!

We have saved a special treat for the closing concert on Monday morning. The 2018 Unison festival will feature just one festival chorus: an SATB choir that will perform with orchestra at the closing concert in the Bella Concert Hall.

 

Beyond Singing

The festival weekend includes a number of social events to give delegates a chance to relax, reconnect with old friends, and make new friends. Sunday night features the festival banquet in the lovely Ross Glenn Hall, followed by a dance party in Wyckham House. Every night, you will find karaoke and other activities after hours in the campus pub. Monday morning, we dish up a pancake breakfast, to give you a taste of the Calgary Stampede.

Workshop offerings through the weekend will include a leadership conference on Friday and a workshop for singers that runs both Saturday and Sunday.

For delegates arriving early, local tours may be of interest: tour the new National Music Centre or take a queer history walk through Calgary’s Beltline district.

 

See you in Calgary in 2018!

Festival Unisson 2018

Du 18 au 21 mai 2018 • Calgary

La ville de Calgary est heureuse et honorée d’être l’hôtesse du festival Unisson 2018. Ce festival marque la 20e année depuis qu’Edmonton fut l’hôtesse du tout premier festival de chœurs LGBTQ2, en 1998. Bienvenue de nouveau en Alberta à cette formidable édition anniversaire de Unison Festival Unisson !

 

Bella Concert Hall

Salle de concert de première classe

Nous avons choisi Mount Royal University comme lieu du festival 2018. Les concerts du festival auront lieu au théâtre phare de l’université, le Bella Concert Hall, situé au sein du Taylor Centre for the Performing Arts. Conçu pour des prestations de chœurs et d’orchestres, le Bella est à la fois magnifique et intime et jouit d’une acoustique superbe.

 

 

 

West Residence

Un village gai sur le campus

Dès votre arrivée au festival, vous mettrez les pieds dans un village gai instantané créé juste pour vous. Chantez, mangez et jouez, tout ça directement sur le campus !

Vous logerez dans les résidences d’étudiants de l’université, et vous ne serez donc jamais loin de l’action. Les concerts du festival, la restauration et les activités de soirée seront tous à une distance de marche confortable.

 

 

Montrez-nous votre créativité !

Le thème du festival Unisson 2018 est « Montrez-nous votre créativité ! » Nos directeurs artistiques, Jean-Louis Bleau et Jane Perry, sont en train de ciseler, pour votre plus grand plaisir, un week-end de collaboration créative. Nous ouvrons grandes les portes à de nouvelles créations en cherchant à bâtir une communauté au sein même de Calgary et à travers le pays grâce à la collaboration.

Le festival prend son élan avec une cérémonie d’ouverture et un concert, le vendredi soir, au Bella Concert Hall.  Les chœurs hôtes, Calgary Men’s Chorus, One Voice Chorus et BarberEllas, s’empareront de la scène pour vous accueillir tous à Calgary. Pour clore le concert, des chanteurs provenant de chœurs de jeunes locaux se joindront à eux. Cette masse chorale, de quelque 150 voix, pourrait bien faire soulever le toit !

Le samedi et le dimanche, le festival prend son rythme habituel. Chacun des chœurs ou ensembles participants va faire sa prestation dans l’un des blocs de concerts, dans le Bella Concert Hall. Comme toujours, ces blocs de concerts sont le cœur du festival Unisson.

Le samedi soir, Calgary présente le Musi-Circus, un festival de rue présenté à l’intérieur, composé de musique et d’arts distribués sur trois théâtres du campus. Restez à l’écoute des nouvelles à venir sur ce nouvel événement captivant !

Nous avons gardé pour la fin une gâterie spéciale, pour le concert final, le lundi matin. Le festival Unisson 2018 présentera un seul chœur du festival : un chœur SATB qui chantera avec orchestre lors du concert de clôture dans le Bella Concert Hall.

 

Au-delà du chant

La fin de semaine du festival inclura un certain nombre d’activités sociales pour donner aux délégués la chance de se détendre, de renouer avec de vieux amis et de se faire de nouveaux amis. Le dimanche soir présente le banquet du festival dans la jolie salle Glenn Hall, suivi d’une soirée dansante à la Wyckham House. Tous les soirs vous trouverez un karaoké et d’autres activités de soir au pub du campus.  Lundi matin, nous vous offrons un petit déjeuner aux crêpes pour vous donner un goût du Stampede de Calgary.

Les ateliers offerts pendant la fin de semaine seront une conférence sur le leadership, le vendredi, et un atelier pour chanteurs, le samedi et le dimanche.

Pour les délégués arrivés tôt, des visites locales pourront avoir un intérêt : une tournée du nouveau National Music Centre ou une marche de l’histoire gaie à travers le district Beltline de Calgary.

 

Nous vous attendons à Calgary en 2018 !