Schedule Overview

Unison Festival, Calgary

Friday, May 18 to Monday, May 21, 2018

Event Highlights

Opening Concert

The festival kicks off with an opening ceremony and concert on Friday night, marking the 20th anniversary of Unison Festival. Host choirs Calgary Men’s Chorus, One Voice Chorus, and the BarberEllas take the stage to welcome everyone to Calgary. To close the concert, they are joined by singers from local youth choirs, forming a massed choir over 150 voices strong. Following the concert, delegates get a chance to mingle over finger foods and cocktails in the lobby of the Bella Concert Hall.

Festival Chorus

The Calgary festival features a single SATB Festival Chorus. The Festival Chorus will be a blockbuster event in its own right – 200 voices or more performing with orchestra at the closing concert in the Bella Concert Hall.  Learn more

Choral Workshop

On Saturday or Sunday, start your day with a dynamic workshop led by Edmonton conductor and clinician Scott Leithead. The same workshop will run both days, so everyone has a chance to take part.  Learn more

Concert Blocks

The concert blocks are the heart of every Unison Festival. Participating choirs and small ensembles perform on Saturday and Sunday. Be prepared to laugh, to cry – in short, to be moved as groups ranging from 10 to 100 singers take the stage to showcase what they do best.

Musi-Circus

On Saturday evening, delegates take to the campus streets for an indoor street festival of music and arts. Performances will run simultaneously in three campus theatres, featuring local artists and members of our Unison family.  Learn more

Closing Concert

We will be finishing the Unison 2018 Festival with a bang, and you won’t want to miss it! The festival wraps up with a spectacular send-off concert in the Bella Concert Hall. This final official event of the Festival weekend will include the announcement of the next Unison host city, a special performance by the acclaimed Calgary-based Spiritus Chamber Choir, and a concert performance from the 200-voice SATB Festival Chorus accompanied by orchestra.

Social Activities

Throughout the weekend, delegates get a chance to unwind together at a variety of social events, including late-night karaoke in the bar, a banquet and dance party on Sunday night, and a traditional Calgary Stampede breakfast on Monday morning. Watch for more details as the festival approaches!

Leadership Meetings

Choir leaders have the opportunity to network and learn from each other at a leadership conference on Friday.

Aperçu de l’horaire

Festival Unisson, Calgary

Du vendredi 18 mai au lundi 21 mai 2018

Points saillants des événements

Concert d’ouverture

Le festival prend son élan avec une cérémonie d’ouverture et un concert, le vendredi soir, qui marque le 20e anniversaire du Festival Unisson. Les chœurs hôtes, Calgary Men’s ChorusOne Voice Chorus et les BarberEllas, montent sur scène pour accueillir tout le monde à Calgary. Pour clore le concert, des chanteurs venant de chœurs de jeunes locaux vont se joindre à eux pour former une masse chorale de plus de 150 voix. Après le concert, les délégués auront la chance de socialiser en dégustant des amuse-bouche et des cocktails dans le hall du Bella Concert Hall.

Chœur du Festival

Le festival de Calgary met en scène un unique chœur du festival en formation SATB. Le Chœur du Festival sera à lui seul un blockbuster – 200 voix ou plus accompagnées d’un orchestre lors du concert de clôture au Bella Concert Hall. En savoir plus

Atelier pour chanteurs

Le samedi et le dimanche, commencez votre journée avec un atelier dynamique dirigé par le chef et clinicien edmontonien Scott Leithead. Le même atelier sera répété sur deux jours pour donner à tous la chance d’y participer. En savoir plus

Blocs de concert

Les blocs de concerts sont au cœur de tout Festival Unisson. Les chœurs et petits ensembles participants se présentent le samedi et le dimanche. Soyez prêts à rire et à pleurer, bref, à vous laisser émouvoir alors que des groupes de 10 à 100 chanteurs et chanteuses monteront sur scène pour exposer ce qu’ils font de mieux.

Musi-Circus

Le samedi soir, les délégués envahissent les rues du campus pour un festival de rue présenté à l’intérieur, où s’allient la musique et les arts. Les prestations se dérouleront simultanément sur trois théâtres du campus mettant en vedette des artistes locaux et des membres de notre famille Unisson. En savoir plus

Concert de clôture

Le festival se clôt avec un concert final spectaculaire au Bella Concert Hal.  On y entendra le Spiritus Chamber Choir de Calgary, un ensemble de réputation internationale, et le Chœur du Festival accompagné par un orchestre.

Activités sociales

Tout au long du weekend, les délégués auront la chance de se détendre dans le cadre d’une variété d’événements sociaux et notamment à un karaoké de fin de soirée dans le bar, un banquet et une danse le dimanche soir, et un petit déjeuner traditionnel du Stampede de Calgary, le lundi matin. Surveillez les détails à mesure que le festival approche !

Rencontres de leadership

Les chefs de chœur ont l’occasion de faire du réseautage et d’apprendre les uns des autres à la conférence sur le leadership, le vendredi.